Up On the Mountain

It was a beautiful morning when Doc and I set out on a new adventure to teach Doc more about squirrel hunting. As the trail ended up a narrow valley the hard part faced us, and that was climbing to the mountain top. We had to pace ourselves, but finally reached the ridge top. Once there, I was surprised there were very few hickory, oak, beech or walnut trees, the favorite nut goodies that squirrels like to munch on. We had walked a good ways and finally decided to go back down into a new area. After moving downhill a little ways we stopped to look at the hills that surrounded us and the deep valleys. Standing there talking with Doc, a feeling moved through me, and I said ” Doc, you see that one part of the valley below. There are squirrels down there.”

“How do you know that?” he asked, and I said, “I can feel their movement on the air.” He looked at me kind of funny, and said, “O. K.,” still looking like I was joking. I don’t blame him. If someone had said that to me when I was starting out, I would have thought the same thing. After reaching the valley floor, wouldn’t you know it! We got into the biggest bunch of squirrels. They were running every where. It’s remarkable how fast they can disappear once shotguns are fired. The day was a success with two friends enjoying the woods together. Once again, a lesson  I learned a long time ago and  I still keep learning is that mountain tops have victories, when we have conquered a habit, or a struggle of sorts; but the real tests are in the valley of decisions. Hold on to your faith, keep believing, and God will lead you through, maybe a few bumps and bruises along the way, but hopefully some wisdom gained and strength to face the next valley of testing. Be Blessed and Remain a Blessing.Image

 

This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

