My Song, My Audition

Several years ago I attended a church that was growing rapidly, and was bursting at the seams. Lots of good people, and they had a pretty good size choir. On several occasions I had asked the choir leader if I could sing in the choir, and all he would say to me was, “Just rest, Gene, just rest.” So I began to use a different tactic. Sometimes when I was working as a road guard, the choir would have to cross the road from one of our many buildings. About the time the choir leader would cross in front of me, I would begin to sing just loud enough for his ears alone. I would sing, “Please let me sing in the choir , in the choir, please let me sing in the choir.” He would just smile and say, “Rest,Gene, just rest.” Oh well, at least I tried. Every time I would go into the woods, I would be so full of joy, I would sing within my heart for the Lord, and still not disturb my surroundings. “How Great Thou Art” is a song that is fitting as I take my walk through the forest. How can I not sing when I look up and see all the brilliant colors as looking through a kaleidoscope. Wandering along I hear the birds singing in the trees, and I am reminded of another song, “His Eye is on the Sparrow and I Know He Watches Me.” My God is with me every step of the way, and He walks with me and He talks with me and tells me I am His own, and the joys we share as we tarry there, none other has ever known. I sing with joy, thanksgiving and praise. I know when I open my mouth and sing, every word and breath and heart beat, every moment is an audition before the Lord and He never tells me to rest or wait at any time. No! He loves my singing, on key or off, the audition goes on every day of our lives. I have a song in the day and a song in the night, and the songs lift me right up into heavenly places. What is your song? Everyone of us is on the grand stage of life, continually on audition for the King of Glory. Lift up your voice in the sanctuary and sing forth on the mountain or in the woods. Be a part of His creation because every bit of it lifts up praise. The trees, the stream cascading over the rocks, everything is making music. Rejoice, and again I say rejoice. Be Blessed and Remain a Blessing

This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Song, My Audition

  1. Gloria Boggess says:

    This is a really good one, got me to singing, too……..PTL!!

Leave a Reply

