Clay Pigeons

Finally the day has come. I have been in this new church about two months and still hardly knew anyone. Then one of the men in church asked me if I would like to do some trap shooting on a friend’s farm with some of the guys in the church. So the day has arrived and here I am driving my car out in a field where everyone was standing. Now here is where it gets kind of dicey – the guy who had invited me never showed up. To make it worse, I found out he had told these guys I was a real good shooter. If he had been there, I would have shook him real good and asked why he would tell such a story (not letting on that I was just having fun with him).

   There were enough guys to give everyone a chance to shoot. We each would only fire three rounds at a time. Since I was new to all these guys, I waited to shoot last. Finally my turn  came and I took my shotgun out of its case and  picked some fiber off the front sight. I happened to turn around and all the guys were staring at me, waiting for me to take my turn. Well, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to have a little fun. Remember the movie Sargent York? You know the scene where York was on the rifle range, laying down getting ready to shoot? He licks his thumb and runs it across the front sight. He turns around and told his sargent, “I’m ready to do some shooting.” Well , before I stepped up to the line, looking back at the guys, I took and licked my thumb and ran it over the front sight. I told the guys, “I’m ready to do some shooting.” They didn’t know I had only fired my shotgun a couple of times over the last fifteen or so years.

  Lo and behold! I actually hit that clay pigeon, and the next and the one after that. Boy was I lucky, three in a row. I was shocked because I knew my reflexes would be slow starting out. We went on to shoot several more times that day and I got to know a few of the men a little better. Fellowship is needed in the church, but also outside to deepen each relationship, and to help bring the church body together as one. I hope to see you all in church Sunday morning so we can learn to function  as one, even as Jesus and the Father are one. Be Blessed and Remain a Blessing.

This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clay Pigeons

  1. Gloria says:

    Still catching up on emails……we love this story and can just see your amazement at hitting the mark……sounds like fun; reminds me of the ANDY Griffith show where he was out-shot by a lady friend…..keep up the good work….did your shoulder get sore the next day??

    • praynman says:

      Gloria, I really didn’t miss a one the whole time. When they ask me to keep shooting, I didn’t feel that was fair making other wait to shoot. So I walked over and picked up a strange weapon and missed with it. It felt good to miss and I’m so glad I did.

Leave a Reply

