Meandering Down Memory Lane

Driving down an old two lane country road, dad talked non stop about the lay of the land at the same time trying to keep me awake.
Arriving at his favorite spot, getting our guns ready, we walked to dad’s favorite spot and was seated on the ground just before day break. We were able to get a few squirrels, so we decided to go back to the car for a drink and sandwich. After eating dad said, ” let’s leave the guns in the car and take a short walk, I want you to meet a family down this path to their home. Arriving at an open area. There stood a small log cabin with an outhouse across from the cabin. Dad, called the house, ” hey Virgie, anybody home. ” Out the door came Virgie, his wife, and five or six small children. Now I was taken by surprise at this sight, this home was built for no more than four.This house has three rooms, a kitchen, wood stove, a table and a door. The living room had a bed, a crib, couch and a small pot bellied stove. A side bedroom held a bed, and two half beds. I am being descriptive on purpose because I was just as young as some as these kids and over the years as I grew I was a!so watching this family grow in more ways then one. They were all growing older but the family was also getting larger. The last time I saw this family they had eleven children.
Many years have past but I still remember with great detail the events of that day with great clarity. I have always learned something listening to my dad. Even in the small talk he was still teaching me a life lesson. One of the greatest things I learned that day was to watch and listen for what you see and hear may only come your way one time. The sights and words in that moment can be lost in seconds. Another great attribute we must learn is to rehearse, rehearse, and rehearse so you can give to others what has been given to you. Love each other even as I have loved you. Blessings be yours to pour out upon others. Be still and listen for the master is still speaking. Every avenue has been given to teach us how to be better people.

About praynman

Minister of prayer, husband, grandfather,friend, sportsman, competitive shooter, and likes photography.
This entry was posted in Essence of Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meandering Down Memory Lane

  1. Rob Keister says:

    blessings

Leave a comment